Peeter Joot's (OLD) Blog.

Math, physics, perl, and programming obscurity.

McGyvering a BBQ drip tray from a microwave

Posted by peeterjoot on August 4, 2013

When I attempted to clean my BBQ drip tray today, it basically disintegrated when I removed it:

IMG_0936

It was being held together by not much except luck.  My search for sheet metal in the garage wasn’t successful, but I found and scavenged the casing from the microwave that conveniently died this week.  After my attack, this is what was left

 

IMG_0935

I was careful to short the big giant capacitor, before leaving it exposed, but didn’t get any cool sparks.  From the casing, I needed a little bit more width than the top of the microwave’s width.  I cut a little lower than the bends at the corner, straightened my stock into a rectangle, and then, lacking a brake, bent things into the final configuration with an adjustable crescent wrench

IMG_0937

This worked out well, and slides into place nicely

IMG_0939

Inserted fully it looks like

IMG_0938

Leave a Reply

 
