Peeter Joot's (OLD) Blog.

Math, physics, perl, and programming obscurity.

Lasagna, Take II (regular, plus gluten free)

Posted by peeterjoot on January 27, 2011

Last year, I posted notes on my first completely independent Lasagna attempt:

https://peeterjoot.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/lasagne-feb-7th-attempt/

 

I’ve tried it again, but this time I have some pictures to go with it.  I also prepared one regular Lasagna, and made an attempt at a second gluten free variation, using the same batch of filling material.  Since I couldn’t find Lasagna style gluten free noodles, I used rice noodles for the gluten free variant, and layered them, in a pseudo-lasagna like fashion

 

IMG_0008

 

I used way too many rice noodles for that little Lasagna (a one pound package would have done).  For the regular lasagna, I used about 3/4 of a package of spinach noodles, which was also too much, but I’ll be able to use the leftovers for something else.

Ingredients for this attempt included:

  • 1 package (500g / 1lb) lean ground beef.
  • 1 jar spaghetti sauce.
  • 1 container of cottage cheese (don’t have to bother straining).
  • Bag of shredded mozzarella on hand.
  • Parmesan to grate on top when done.
  • A bunch of mushrooms (~12), sliced.
  • 3 small zucchinis, sliced.
  • 1 yellow pepper.
  • A bag of spinach, fried to make it easier to handle when layering.
  • A bit of regular and some super old cheddar (only because I ran out of mozzarella actually)
  • 4 cloves of garlic, rasped.

I tried doing the prep work more concurrently, and had at any given time, two frying pans going with one of the fry-em-up ingredients (ground beef, spinach, mushrooms, peppers, zukes).  A bit of liquid seems to help expedite the cooking times for some of the vegies.  The two batches of noodles were also prepared in these times.

In the end, combine the meat, peppers, zukes, mushrooms, and the sauce in a big pan, and mix em and cook em a bit all together.

IMG_0002

This is also when I used the kitchen rasp on the garlic.

The layers can go in many ways.  Some of them end up with a very nice colour

IMG_0007

IMG_0005

Both of the Lasagnas were made in advance of the actual meals, so I`ve got them both in the freezer right now, not yet tried.  Before covering and freezing them my two creations looked like:

IMG_0012

375 F is the temp I have in my notes from last time, but I don`t recall for how long.  A half hour with a few minutes on broil at the end will likely do the trick.  I`ll be interested to see how these ones turn out (especially the gluten free variation).

One Response to “Lasagna, Take II (regular, plus gluten free)”

  1. Sofia said

    yum — I’d consider the gluten-free experiment a success.

Leave a Reply

 
