Peeter Joot's (OLD) Blog.

Math, physics, perl, and programming obscurity.

turning off the gdb pager to collect gobs of info.

Posted by peeterjoot on September 30, 2009

I’ve got stuff interrupted with the debugger, so I can’t invoke our external tool to collect stacks. Since gdb doesn’t have redirect for most commands here’s how I was able to collect all my stacks, leaving my debugger attached:

(gdb) set height 0
(gdb) set logging on
(gdb) thread apply all where

Now I can go edit gdb.txt when it finishes (in the directory where I initially attached the debugger to my pid), and examine things. A small tip, but it took me 10 minutes to figure out how to do it (yet again), so it’s worth jotting down for future reference.

2 Responses to “turning off the gdb pager to collect gobs of info.”

  1. Mark said

    “set height 0” disables paging per the gdb manual “Debugging with gdb” section 22.4

Leave a Reply

 
